Residential Services

Since 1982, AccessCNY’s Certified Residential Services have assisted adults with developmental disabilities and acquired brain injuries in meeting their housing and personal care needs.

Currently we offer two types of Certified Individualized Residential Alternatives (IRAs) for individuals over the age of 18- Supervised IRAs and Supportive IRAs. 

All of AccessCNY’s IRAs are located in neighborhoods with easy access to public transportation and community venues. Participants are encouraged to become involved in the community and are supported in reaching their full potential. 

Types of IRAs:

Supervised IRAs are homes where two to seven adults with disabilities live together. Each Supervised IRA provides staffing twenty-four hours a day to meet the needs of the residents. 

In Supportive IRAs, individuals live in apartments by themselves or with a roommate. Staffing is not provided twenty-four hours a day. Instead, staff is scheduled based on the support needs of each individual, ranging from a few days a week to multiple hours a day. Staff can be available to help with unexpected needs that arrive after hours as well. 

In each type of IRA participants receive services and supports based on their individual needs and choices. AccessCNY staff is specifically trained to help individuals develop and maintain skills in a variety of areas. Participants are also assisted in setting and reaching goals that promote independence. 

Individuals, families and Care Coordinators interested in learning more about the residential services provided by AccessCNY should contact Merilee Gorton at 315-218-1648 or


Merrilee Gorton
Associate Director of Residential Services
Phone: 315-218-1648 | Fax: 315-478-1575


Referrals for residential services may come from many sources, including families, service coordinators, or participants themselves. The New York State Office For People With Developmental Disabilities (OPWDD) provides AccessCNY with possible referrals for the program.

Programs are funded by the New York State OPWDD. Enrollment in the Medicaid Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Waiver is required.